side menu icon

Girl Scouts and Faith

Celebrating Spirituality and Faith

Everything in Girl Scouting is based on the Girl Scout Promise and Law, which includes many of the principles and values common across religions. So while we are a secular organization, Girl Scouts has always encouraged girls to take spiritual journeys via their faiths' religious recognitions.

  My Promise, My Faith

Girls of all grade levels can now earn the My Promise, My Faith pin, which complements existing religious recognitions and allows girls to further strengthen the connection between their faith and Girl Scouts. Once each year, a girl can earn the My Promise, My Faith pin by carefully examining the Girl Scout Law and tying it directly to tenets of her faith. Requirements for this pin are included in The Girl's Guide to Girl Scouting for all levels. Read more (PDF).

Religious Recognitions

Created by national religious organizations to encourage the spiritual growth of youth members, religious recognition programs reinforce many of the values integral to Girl Scouting and help girls grow stronger in and learn more about their chosen faith.

Each religious organization develops and administers its own program. The brochure “To Serve God” (PDF) lists the religious recognitions created by various faith groups. You can find this brochure, a video explaining religious recognition programs, and other resources for collaborating with faith communities at P.R.A.Y. Publishing.

Some religious organizations are not affiliated with P.R.A.Y. or may not have a national office. To learn about their religious recognitions, contact local leaders.

Please note: Religious awards may not be worked on during meeting times. An additional time must be set aside to work on awards. Meeting prior to or after a regular meeting is acceptable.

Awards are presented to girls by their own minister, priest, rabbi, etc. at a ceremony planned by/at the girl’s house of worship.

For more information on the religious awards, visit GSUSA: Girl Scouts and Faith.

Catholic Awards

The Program Guide for Catholic Scouting (available at GSSNE and the Office of Youth Ministry) details all of the girl and adult awards available. Catholic Cadette & Senior religious awards are presented by the Bishop at a formal Scout Sunday Mass in March. Details regarding the procedure for the Catholic Awards can be forwarded to Norma Malachowski at to receive more information.

God is Love (Grades K –1)

This National program helps students discover an appreciation that God created, cares for, and loves us all.

Family of God (Grades 2 & 3)

This National program’s purpose is to help the child explore a wide range of activities & discover the presence of God in her life as a member of their family & parish. Parents and adults serve as advisors to the child and help her grow in religious awareness by talking about the experiences that make up the program.

I Live My Faith Medal

This national award program enables the recipient to grow as a Christian person and to take her place as an active and responsible member of her family, parish, troop, and community.

Marian Medal

The purpose of this national award program is to provide the recipient with a unique opportunity to develop new insights into herself, friends, family, and the world around her.

Alive Medal

This program assists Catholic high school-aged girls in discovering how the Holy Spirit moves in their lives, calling them to greater participation in the Church's ministry.

Pillars of Faith Award

Girl Scouts who have earned the Family of God, I Live My Faith, the Marian, and the Spirit Alive Medals are eligible to be a recipient of this award.

Other Religious Awards

Procedures for most other religious awards – not Catholic – are as follows:

1.      Girls must obtain the specific booklet for their religion.

  • Check with your council store or contact the religious organization directly,
  • Each girls needs her own booklet to document progress,
  • Some religions offer adult manuals for counselors and mentors.

2.      Parents should review the program guidelines.

  • Some programs require that girls be official “members” of the religious institution,
  • Age/grade requirements vary from program to program,
  • Each programs sets its own guidelines as to who may serve as a counselor. Some programs require clergy to serve as counselor, other programs allow parents or other family members to serve as a counselor.

3.      Families should talk to their religious leaders and show them the booklet before beginning any program.

  • Most programs require that they completed under the auspices of that religious organization,
  • Many programs require a religious leader’s signature.

4.      Girls must complete the requirements, obtain the proper signatures, and follow the instruction to order the recognition or pin.

  • These recognitions or pins are not available in your Girl Scout store (follow instructions in your booklet),
  • The award should be presented in a meaningful ceremony, preferably in the girl’s religious institution,
  • The award can be presented at any time of the year (Don’t forget: Girl Scout Sunday/Sabbath is in March).

For more information on religious award procedures, visit